Gavin Minter - I'll Be Seeing You

Gavin Minter - I'll Be Seeing You

Released 15th March 2008, Sheer Records.

Track Listing

1. As Time Goes By
2. Close To You
3. Don't Explain
4. Fools Rush In
5. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
6. Smile
7. I've Never Been In Love Before
8. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
9. Lakutshon Ilanga
10. I'll Be Seeing You
11. Caminhos Cruzados
12. Love

Download on iTunes


The album is intensely personal one and is a tribute to his late trumpet player father, Tom Minter. All the songs are favourites of Minter’s and have a special meaning to him.

The lush, rich, intense, dark arrangements by composer Standberg and Minters voice lifts the album to great heights of pleasant aural enjoyment and should find pride of place in ones CD collection. It is difficult to choose a favourite track as each has its own charm and hits the right spot for any mood. The album will sit very well in the car CD player and will take one on a journey of escape from the stresses of daily traffic jams and road rage.

I’ll Be Seeing You is a winner and will be enjoyed for years to come, go have a listen and one will be seduced into taking a copy home.
CD OF THE WEEK – Eric Alan - Late Show

His smooth voice is backed up by the Stockholm Jazz Orchestra and this laid back album is perfect for when you need to unwind
Sieraaj Ahmed – You magazine

“Any fool knows bravado is always a cover up for insecurity” chirped Bobby Darrin when asked the secret to singing standards. Gavin Minter’s been listening as no neo-Vegas lounge lizard hustle or pop cover clichés needed for this Mother City crooner. Warming up with the Casablanca classic “As Time Goes By” he uncovers the yearning at the core of the Carpenter’s classic “Close To You” As with any classy crooner, Minter’s ability to bewitch, bother and bewilder the listener pivots around his phrasing. Lingering over every syllable, he remembers what Sinatra learned from Billie Holiday on a subdued reading of Lady Day’s ”Don’t Explain”, channels Chet Baker’s cool on “I’ve Never Been in Love Before” and finds solace in “In The Wee Small Hours of The Morning” Rather than trying to beat Tony Bennett at his laid back best, together with the Stockholm Jazz Orchestra and a VIP cast of South African session men, he simply revisits the Dixieland roots of “I Left My Heart In San Francisco” before swinging into a double distilled version of Jobim’s bossa breeze “Caminhos Cruzados”

In an age of instant hits destined to become instantly obsolete “Ill Be Seeing You” is one of the most timeless standards sets you’ll hear all year.
Myles Keylock – Essential Listening – GQ Magazine - 4 stars

Who needs Michael Buble’ Cape Town based Gavin Minter has a rather trance-inducing [in a good way] voice. Most of his songs are soothing ballads, which are perfect for winding down at the end of a long day. Featuring the Stockholm Jazz Orchestra, its pure bliss.
Nikki Temkin – Sundays Times Magazine – 4 stars

The very best of Big-Band [Front page]
It’s a good album - its beautifully recorded and has a beautiful sentiment
Evan Milton - The Good Weekend – Cape Argus